Certificate image
Mug image

About the Awards

The Club Standards Awards are intended as a way of recognising the achievements of our members and to encourage and recognise improvement. They are based on age gradings in qualifying events.

Performances in three different qualifying distances must be achieved between 1st November in one year and 31st October the next year. This gives us time to make presentations at the Club's Awards evening in November each year.

This year only, retrospective awards will be made to take into account performances by current club members in past years.


If you'd like to understand how age grading works or calculate performances needed to achieve an age grade see Age Grading

RedUp to 39.99%Blue55.00 - 59.99%Gold75.00 - 79.99%
Yellow40.00 - 44.99%Black60.00 - 64.99%Platinum80.00 - 84.99%
Green45.00 - 49.99%Bronze65.00 - 69.99%Diamond85.00 - 89.99%
Purple50.00 - 54.99%Silver70.00 - 74.99%Double Diamond90.00% +

Qualifying distances

  • 1 Mile - Club timed mile
  • 5k - or ParkRun
  • 10k
  • 10m
  • Half Marathon
  • Marathon


  • Only performances recorded on the Whitchurch Whippets website will be recognised
  • Only the age gradings calculated on the Whitchurch Whippets website will be used
  • Performances over three qualifying distances are needed to qualify for a standard
  • The lowest rated performance of your three qualifying performances will determine your standard - see example below
  • The qualifying period runs from 1st November to 31st October
  • You must be a paid up member at 31st October to qualify for an award
  • Only race performances while a paid up Whippet will be counted.
  • Awards will be made when gaining your first standard or on achieving a higher standard


In this example the runner gains a "Black" standard (64 - 64.99%) because of the weaker performance in the HM. A slight improvement in that event would have qualified our mystery runner for a "Bronze" standard (65-69.99%). Seconds really do matter!


Current Year Standards Set

These awards are for performances from 1st November 2019 to 31st October 2020.

The table below shows standards achieved so far this year as shown in the column YEAR. Your best three event percentages are shown. The lowest percentage determines your standard.

The BEST column shows the highest standard reached and the AWARDED column shows when that standard was awarded.

If the AWARDED columm says 2020 then you will get a Standard mug at the Birthday Bash in November. If the AWARDED column shows an earlier year then you have not acheived a higher standard this year.

If your name is not in the list, then you have not yet done 3 qualifying distances. There is still time for better performances to be acheived.

I'm still checking this table as I've only just automated what was a manual process. So, if you spot any problems please let me know.

Name Event % Event % Event % Year Best Awarded
Sarah Castin5k50.89HM49.6810k48.52GreenGreen2020
Sue Evans10k63.29HM60.535k58.34BlueBlack2018
Paul Evans10k53.95HM53.855k48.75GreenBlack2018
Gary Gray5k66.07HM58.5810k55.89BlueBlack2019
Richard HandleyHM69.7510k69.335k68.35BronzeBronze2019
Jenny Stiles10k52.785k50.08HM49.99GreenBlue2019
Katie Webster10k60.165k59.04HM58.38BlueBlack2016

Previous Awards

For those who'd like to know who has achieved what, this table shows the highest standard reached by members prior to the current qualifying year. Date awarded is usually the date the standard was achieved except for those dated 31st October 2015 when a catch up from past years was carried out.

You may spot the odd past member as it's quite fiddly to keep web records up to date with current membership.

Member Standard Date Awarded
Sarah BerryBlue30/09/2018
Alison BirchPurple26/06/2018
David BowieSilver25/08/2019
Odilia Briceno PlummerBlue09/09/2018
Janet BurgessBlack11/09/2017
Shaun BurgessGold26/06/2018
Linda CallaghanBlue27/06/2019
Fiona ChallinorBlack31/10/2015
Julie CollinsGreen27/06/2019
Katie CopnallYellow05/10/2019
Keith CottonBronze28/06/2017
Lyndsey CottonPurple27/06/2019
Lisa DaleBlack25/08/2019
Lee DaleYellow09/09/2018
John DillonDiamond05/09/2016
Ali DolphinBronze31/10/2015
Charlotte DolphinYellow10/09/2018
Libby DudlestonSilver31/10/2015
Janice EastwoodBlue26/06/2018
Zara ElsonPurple15/10/2018
Sue EvansBlack15/10/2018
Paul EvansBlack28/10/2018
Katie EvansPurple26/06/2018
Elizabeth FeatherstoneBronze31/08/2018
Rachael FosterSilver31/10/2015
Gillian FowlesBlue14/10/2019
Georgina FowlesGreen27/06/2019
Carol FowlesBronze21/07/2019
Charlotte GiddingsBronze21/05/2017
Sarah GillPurple26/06/2018
Lorraine GillanBlue03/09/2019
Jo GrandfieldGold13/10/2016
Ian GrandfieldBronze03/11/2016
Gary GrayBlack29/09/2019
Mark GregorySilver17/09/2017
James GrestyBlack20/10/2019
John HaleyBlack31/08/2018
Pam HamiltonPurple10/09/2018
Geoff HandleyBronze08/07/2019
Richard HandleyBronze14/10/2019
Narg HarrisBlue26/06/2018
Pamela HardyBronze31/10/2015
Adrian HaywardPurple31/10/2015
Andy HeathBlack09/10/2017
Christine HendersonSilver31/10/2015
Clarrie HocknellBlack27/06/2019
Peter HolmesBronze27/06/2019
Julie HollinsPurple27/06/2019
Adam HollinsBlue04/08/2019
Victoria HopwoodSilver28/10/2019
Ali HunterBronze27/06/2019
Simon HuxleyBlack24/09/2019
Robert InghamBlack11/09/2017
Annmarie JacksonRed14/10/2019
Amy KellettRed14/10/2019
Ross KennedyPurple29/08/2017
Sheridan LaneBlue22/10/2016
Martin LaneBlue25/08/2019
Fiona LeathamBlack26/06/2018
Leah LeonardGold15/10/2018
Mandy LewisPurple26/07/2016
Joanna LloydPurple04/09/2018
Matt LucasBronze31/10/2015
James MarshBlack31/10/2015
Cathy McAllisterBlue30/08/2016
Michael McKeownGreen05/09/2016
Saul MellorBronze28/07/2019
Duncan MeredithBronze03/09/2019
Adele MinshallBlue31/10/2015
Jonathan MorganGold31/10/2015
Mark MusgroveBlack04/08/2016
Sarah MusgrovePurple27/06/2019
Victoria Newland-JonesRed14/10/2019
Garry NortonPurple15/10/2018
Lynn NortonBlack29/07/2018
Michelle NortonGreen31/10/2015
Mimi OwenPlatinum28/06/2017
Janice OwenPurple16/09/2018
Simon ParsonsBronze31/10/2015
Paul ParkinsonSilver02/09/2019
Sid PaulPurple09/10/2017
Simon PhillipsGold21/07/2017
Katie PrinceYellow04/09/2018
Thomas PrinceYellow30/09/2019
Michelle PurcellBlack21/07/2019
James RainbowBlack26/06/2018
Liz RankinBlack26/07/2016
Duncan RaynorBlack30/07/2017
Michelle ReadBlack26/07/2016
Dean RichardsSilver31/10/2015
Adam RichardsPurple14/10/2019
Helen RobbinsBlack31/10/2015
Ken RobbinsSilver26/07/2016
Simon RobertsBlack31/08/2018
Sara RogersBlue31/10/2015
Nicola RogersBlue02/09/2019
Andrew RogersPurple25/08/2019
John RowlandsGreen31/10/2015
Michelle ScrasePurple01/07/2017
Robert SharamSilver31/10/2015
Nikki ShinglerRed26/06/2018
Kevin SmithPlatinum31/10/2015
Roger SmithBlack31/10/2015
Marcus SomerfieldBlue27/06/2019
Jen SpencerBlack31/10/2015
Neil SpencerBronze31/10/2015
Michael StarkeyBlack19/07/2018
Richard StewartSilver31/10/2015
Heather StewartBlue31/10/2015
Claire StewartPurple31/10/2015
Natalie StevensonBlack15/10/2018
Jenny StilesBlue27/06/2019
Karina StocktonBlack17/09/2018
Dave ThorntonBronze26/06/2018
Philip TownsendBlue31/10/2015
Laura TurnerBlue31/10/2015
Linda VinerBlack31/10/2015
Ed VineGreen31/10/2015
Susan VinePurple08/09/2019
Katie WebsterBlack05/09/2016
Rob WestonGold02/09/2019
Paul WhiteSilver26/06/2018
Suzy WilkesGreen30/09/2019
Thomas WoodworthRed19/09/2016